A Photographic Study of All Things West Virginia

Color or Black and White?

Color or black and white?  That’s a question I run into often when post-processing images. 

Perhaps I should be thinking of it while I’m shooting, and maybe it would have a positive effect on my work if I did.  But in reality it never crosses my mind until I’m sitting in front of a computer with Photoshop opened up.  Then, much like analogous questions such as “Diet Coke or Diet Pepsi”, “vanilla or cholate”, and “Mary Ann or Ginger”, it’s simply a matter of taste.

I found this old barn while travelling the back roads of Roane County, WV, this past weekend, and am somewhat torn between the color and black and white versions.  I’m somewhat leaning towards the black and white treatment at the moment, but would be curious if any viewers have an opinion.

Two Run, Roane County, WV

 

Two Run, Roane County, WV

 

2 responses

  1. lilacwonder

    I’m a big fan of black and white but I think this particular photo lends itself best in color. Love all your pics! I could totally see a WV calendar with your photos!

    August 9, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    • Lilacwonder, thanks very much for the comments! Since posting the two versions I’ve kinda changed from my original thoughts and agree with your assessment.

      August 9, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Leave a Reply

