A Photographic Study of All Things West Virginia

Elk River Reflections

Photography gear can be extraordinarily expensive, so I’ve always been budget conscious when it comes to the photo editing end of things.  For years I’ve made do with various versions of Photoshop Elements, and have been mostly content with the capabilities and control it has given me.

But courtesy of a one-day-only half-price sale through the Adobe website, I am now a happy owner of Adobe Photoshop Lightroom for a whopping $149.  This is a truly remarkable program, and for those who haven’t sprung for it yet I cannot say enough good things about it.

Here is one of my current editing efforts, dredged up from the depths of my hard drive somewhere and injected with as much life as I could give it with Lightroom.

 
 
 

Elk River at Coonskin Park, Kanawha County, WV

 

5 responses

  1. elmediat

    Well done ! beautiful shot.

    August 25, 2011 at 12:40 am

  2. Beautiful capture! I like how the reflection of the trees creats a bit of confusion that challenges the eye. I have not heard about the Adode site where you can sell photos… could you provide a link, please?

    August 20, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    • Hey HoaiPhai,

      Thanks very much for the comment. What I meant to say in my post was that I was able to purchase Lightroom through the Adobe website for $149. That’ll teach me to post right before bedtime, things can get a bit garbled.

      August 20, 2011 at 8:34 pm

      • I fully understand… my entire blog is fuelled by sleep deprivation!

        August 21, 2011 at 2:58 am

  3. Great shot. Can’t wait for the fall season to arrive this year. You should post the original so we can see the work you did.

    August 20, 2011 at 12:18 am

Leave a Reply

