A Photographic Study of All Things West Virginia

Keep Out Truck

I’m always on the lookout for quirky and/or contradictory signs, and this morning I came across this one at the edge of a field way, WAY back in the hills of Roane County, WV.

But I’m unsure how to interpret the message.  I mean, is it speaking directly to a truck, as in “Keep Out, Truck!”.  Or maybe it was signed by a person named Truck, as in:

 Keep Out!

Sincerely Yours,

Truck.

We may never know the answer to this burning question, but during my visit I made sure to keep my own truck on the correct side of the sign.  Now if only I’d been driving a car…

Rocky Branch Road, Roane County, WV

4 responses

  1. elmediat

    Great composition. So many possibilities – there is a specific truck that is not wanted, Truck is the name of a particular person, or truck was added by a rural tagger as an act of defiance.

    August 25, 2011 at 12:39 am

    • Much like the fate of Jimmy Hoffa, this is a mystery that will likely never be solved!

      August 25, 2011 at 9:01 am

  2. LOL, I had not considered sponsorship as an explanation. This is a rubik’s cube of a mystery. Thanks for the comments.

    August 22, 2011 at 8:07 am

  3. Perhaps it is a generic “keep out” sign, but the guy had it sponsored by GMC because he was broke. Great find and cudos for maintaining a sense of composition in the face of a subject so compelling that lesser photographers (such as I) might have not thought about capturing nearly so artistically!

    August 22, 2011 at 1:48 am

Leave a Reply

