A Photographic Study of All Things West Virginia

Abandoned 18

During my recent explorations of the back roads of Roane County, West Virginia, I’ve stumbled across a fair number of abandoned homes.  But this past Sunday morning I happened upon something a bit more rare, an abandoned church.  It was situated right alongside the road, so I was able to park and make a few photographs. 

The dynamic range of the scene was much greater than what my camera could capture, so I bracketed my exposures and blended one shot for the sky and one for the foreground in Photomatix.  I suppose that makes the resulting images HDR shots, but as I processed them in Photomatix I tried my best to keep things looking realistic.  For me that meant leaving the foreground appropriately dark in comparison to the sky, which is what my mind’s eye expects to see.

Johnson Creek Road, Roane County, WV

 

Johnson Creek Road, Roane County, WV

 

Johnson Creek Road, Roane County, WV

9 responses

  1. mewithmycamera

    well taken! love the first one the most

    August 28, 2011 at 11:03 pm

  2. Nice job with the blending – keeping it “real”

    August 27, 2011 at 11:28 am

  3. elmediat

    Beautiful compositions. Excellent setting of mood & subject.

    August 25, 2011 at 12:35 am

  4. Beautiful subject and treatment! You have a real knack for getting out there and hunting down great locations!

    August 23, 2011 at 3:25 am

    • Thanks HoaiPhai. I love driving the back roads of West Virginia, you just never know what you’re going to run into next.

      August 23, 2011 at 7:56 am

  5. Great captures. I love the colors and textures of the front door. Nice work.

    August 23, 2011 at 1:00 am

    • Thanks smokeshooter. The photo of the front of the church was my favorite of the batch as well.

      August 23, 2011 at 7:58 am

  6. lovely.

    August 22, 2011 at 11:42 pm

    • Thanks withagirllikeme.

      August 23, 2011 at 7:57 am

Leave a Reply

