A Photographic Study of All Things West Virginia

Abandoned 19

I took a drive this morning on a bumpy, dead-end road I had never travelled deep in the hills of Roane County, West Virginia, looking for new photo subjects.  But instead of barns, churches, and other quaint country scenes what I found was a disturbing concentration of abandoned dwellings.  And, of course,  I was compelled to photograph them.  And now, perhaps unfortunately for those viewing, I am compelled to post my interpretations on this blog over the coming week.  So, viewer beware, you have been warned!

This first scene shows the interior of an abandoned home, shot through an exterior window (no way I was stepping inside this one).  An upleasant, moldy, musty odor emanated from inside.  I found it sad that the items of day-to-day life had been left behind to decay along with the building itself, and also find it difficult to imagine a scenario that reasonably explains how this could even happen.

Zooming to 100% viewing size I was able to turn this photograph into a game of I-Spy with my children.  Items noted in the photograph included a teddy bear, guitar, pocketbook, toy telephone, plastic heart, boot, shoe, and cowboy hat.

Mount Hope Rd, Roane County, WV

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Abandoned 23 « Lilly Photography

  2. Really sad… what sort of tragedy could cause people to abandon their belongings, especially a teddy bear? This photo really captures the decay and abandonment, it’s very emotional.

    August 29, 2011 at 2:04 am

    • It was somewhat unsettling visiting these places. The remoteness and perfect quiet of the location added to the somber mood. And although it was an interesting area, I don’t anticipate planning a return visit. Unfortunately, though, I’m sure to come across similar abandonment on future explorations, such is the situation in Appalachia.

      August 29, 2011 at 8:04 am

    • I didn’t even see the teddy bear until you said that, now the photo makes me feel downright sad :[

      Where is this? It looks like it’s somewhere in Chernobyl……

      August 30, 2011 at 11:09 am

      • Hi Mary, thanks so much for the comments! This photograph was taken way back in the woods in Roane County, West Virginia. I’m not sure what sort of tragedy would cause people to leave behind all their belongings like this, but sadly it’s not the first time I’ve come across this scenario.

        August 30, 2011 at 11:43 am

  3. mewithmycamera

    wow, wonder what the story was here…well done

    August 28, 2011 at 11:02 pm

    • Hey mewithmycamera, thanks for the comments. I wish I knew the back story to places like this, it’s hard to imagine how anyone could abandon all their belongings.

      August 29, 2011 at 10:21 am

Leave a Reply

