A Photographic Study of All Things West Virginia

Abandoned 26

Footbridge and abandoned home, located in a remote valley deep in the hills of West Virginia. 

I encountered several abandoned dwellings on this little expedition, apparently a small community existed in the area at one time.  As the last of these homes was left empty, the road into the area was apparently abandoned as well-  it took some careful driving to navigate my way over rocks and through creekbeds to this location.

Goose Creek Road, Kanawha County, WV

5 responses

  1. Carolyn L. Taylor Buzzard

    Oh my goodness!! You cannot imagine my surprise when I saw this photo. This is a photo of the workshop and garage on my Grandfather and Grandmother’s home place. My Grandfather, Elijah Losson Taylor, built a beautiful home on the property and I have so many wonderful memories of growing up there. Goose Creek had some fine homes back in the day and even had a post office and grocery store. My Grandfather was a farmer, carpenter, blacksmith and had his own sawmill. In fact, he built the Leatherwood Baptist Church that is still standing today. If there was a road that the State would take care of to the point I could travel it in winter, there is not another place on earth that I would be happier to be than on Goose Creek with my memories!

    December 6, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    • Hey Carolyn, wow it is amazingly awesome to hear a bit of history about Goose Creek! I just kinda stumbled into the area while out exploring the back roads of our great state. Right next to this garage there was a nice looking old home, sadly abandoned with a large tree through the roof etc. I’m sure this was your grandfather’s place. I’ve always wondered how this sort of situation comes to pass, and I bet this was a wonderful place to grow up. Thanks so much for posting!

      December 17, 2013 at 3:14 pm

  2. Another gorgeous photo. Looks like it was perfect weather to get this photo. Simply a perfect one. Thanks for all this sharing!

    September 23, 2011 at 12:22 am

  3. Gorgeous! It looks almost like an HDR image. The area is so beautiful, I’m surprised that people haven’t snatched up these properties and built on them.

    September 22, 2011 at 1:30 am

    • Thanks for the comments HoaiPhai. Some of these locations take country living to a whole ‘nother level, you go to the edge of the world and then keep going for a bit. It’s a can’t get there from here type situation.

      September 22, 2011 at 9:19 am

Leave a Reply

