A Photographic Study of All Things West Virginia

Laurel Creek #1

Through the years I’ve spent countless happy hours fishing for trout in the mountain streams of West Virginia, but these days I’m more apt to be armed with a camera than a fishing pole when I’m in the area.  This particular stream is fed by cold water from abandoned upstream coal mines, but instead of being the ecological disaster that you might expect it is in fact an excellent brown trout fishery.

Fayette County, WV

3 responses

  1. elmediat

    Excellent sense of depth and detail in this composition. The eye is drawn into the image.

    June 10, 2012 at 12:58 pm

  2. Thanks very much for the kind comment! As I took this photograph I was kinda wishing I had my fishing pole with me..

    November 7, 2011 at 10:13 pm

  3. This is a very beautiful picture ! I used to go fly-fishing with my boyfriend ten years ago and I enjoyed it so much. I don’t go fishing anymore, I have other hobbies now including photography. Bye bye and have a nice week !

    November 6, 2011 at 11:40 pm

Leave a Reply

